Glenelg School R7

Governing Council


The Governing Council is made up of members of the school community, representatives of the teachers, and the leadership team.  The 2016 Council compromises of:

Parent Members Role
Clinton Jury Chairperson
Jane Kendall

Deputy Chairperson

Mark Hayes Convenor of Finance Committee - Treasurer
Rachael Edwards Convenor of Canteen Committee
Lead Groves Convenor of Education Committee
Kurt Mathee Convenor of Grounds Committee
Miriam Parsons  
Ben Hooper  
Sam Launer Parents & Friends Representative
Mireille Bucher Convenor of After Hours Sports Committee
Natalie Baron  
Annie Shearer Convenor of OSHC Committee
Amber McKinnon  
Marc Prokic  
Staff Members  
Rae Taggart Principal
Liana McCurry Music Teacher
Anthony McIver Year 2 Teacher

The Governing Council and its sub-committees, represent the school community, and after consultation make decisions on local issues, strategic planning and the allocation of resources.

All Governing Council members, excepting the principal, are elected for a two year period. Nominating Members are elected each year by ballot from the school community.  2 Staff Representatives are also elected each year by peer ballot.

The Governing Council holds a minimum of 2 meetings a term.

Parents also have an opportunity to become involved in Governing Council sub-committees. There are a range of sub-committees including Finance, Fundraising, Facilities and Grounds, Out Of School Hours Care, Canteen, Uniform and Sports.

Governing Council endeavours to keep parents informed of their activities through the School Newsletter.

You can eMail the Governing council at